The Richards DAR House Museum

Visit Website
The Richards DAR House Museum

The Richards-DAR House Museum is a beautiful Italianate townhouse that was built in 1860 by a local riverboat captain, Charles G. Richards, and his wife, Caroline. It is on the National Registry of Historic Places and is considered to be one of the premier structures in the De Tonti Square Historic District.  Unique lace ironwork featuring figures of the “four seasons” welcomes visitors to the front gallery with its black and white patterned marble floor.  Special features in the house include hand carved Carrara marble fireplace surrounds and mantels, a cantilevered staircase, three massive Cornelius & Baker chandeliers, and ruby red Bohemian glass sidelights that frame the front door. The House Museum is furnished with period antique furniture and accessories. It is owned by the City of Mobile and is operated by members of the four local chapters of Daughters of the American Revolution.

 

 

General Amenities
  • Group Friendly
  • Free Parking
Features
  • History & Museums
  • Venues
  • Educational Trips
Other Amenities
  • Public Restroom